Spring Hiking to Mt. Takao

I am actually in a total pinch right now! Only two days before my thesis submission to the department office and I’ve been struggling –seriously– like I’ve never before, haha! But since, I have decided to make at least one post every month in this blog, guess I’ll escape a bit from the manuscript and put some pictures from my last spring hiking to Mt. Takao last April, with a short story maybe 😀 

This is my second time to Mt. Takao after almost 5 and half years. My previous visit was during autumn, where the yellow and red leaves were everywhere around the mountain. Nothing special actually for this visit, because I was not planning to go at the beginning (I was supposed to start working on my thesis that time!). It was spring hiking with my husband’s office colleague proposed by their boss 😀 Because my husband is an extremely lazy person when it comes to traveling, let alone hiking, so he dragged me to come with him, at least to be his company!

Mendarat di Stasiun Takaosanguchi

Mendarat di Stasiun Takaosanguchi

The hiking course. You can get the brochure for this map at the station.

The hiking course. You can get the brochure for this map at the station.

We started walking from the station around 9 am. Aaand considering that we’re not young anymore -or maybe I should just say too lazy- we took the cable car up to the height of  271 meter above sea level. One way ticket is 480 yen. From there, we followed the hiking trail number 2 and then changed to trail number 4 because one of my husband’s colleague wanted to see the suspension bridge mentioned in the map available at the station (hiking trail map is also available on their website here). It was not a good decision! The track is actually not that hard but I ran out of breath only after a few stairs climbing.

Going up with cable car

Going up with cable car

He walked fast so we can reach the peak as soon as possible :D

He walked fast so we can reach the peak as soon as possible 😀

The suspension bridge

The suspension bridge

Long story short, we arrived at the peak of the mountain and then took some group pictures. There is actually a spot where we can see Mt. Fuji there, but it was hiding behind the could that day. I took some photos of the cherry blossoms at the peak, but apparently it’s not full bloom yet at that time (we went there around mid of April). Maybe it was still a bit cold up in the mountain.

Notice the flower buds?

The weather was nice that day!

IMG_7834

Notice the flower buds?

We didn’t spend much at the top of the mountain because the boss’ plan was to have lunch at an Italian restaurant nearby the train station. The group was separated into two when we went down, because some of them didn’t get to see the suspension bridge on the way up. My husband and I -and few others in the group- who climbed all the way on trail number 4, decided to take the chair lift to get to the nearest point to the station 😀

Stopped by for

Stopped by for a softcream!

Some random shot around the shrine all the way down to the chair lift station

Some random shot around the shrine all the way down to the chair lift station

Momiji sign on the belt of the chair lift :D

Momiji sign on the belt of the chair lift 😀

on the chair lift :D

on the chair lift 😀

We got to the restaurant around 2 pm and enjoyed our spaghetti before then taking the train back home. It was a short hiking actually, and not that much walking (blame the cable car and the chair lift :D), but it was fun to meet and get to know my husband’s office mates. And the weather was perfect! What else I can ask? 🙂 

I got the spaghetti with crab sauce for my lunch :)

I got the spaghetti with crab sauce for my lunch 🙂

10 responses to “Spring Hiking to Mt. Takao

  1. Pingback: Rekap Tahun 2015 | Jalan-jalan, traveling, melala, voyages, 旅·

What do you think?

